Founded in 1528 and renovated in 1713, the St. Urban Chapel once belonged to the Schaffnerei of the Cistercian monastery of St. Urban in the city of Solothurn. This economic representation of the Lucerne monastery in Solothurn was opened in 1252 and existed until 1836. The small chapel captivates with its high baroque altar, which ingeniously integrates the existing window openings. At the centre of the altar is a Pietà by the Solothurn sculptor Johann Peter Frölicher, who also made the famous choir stalls of the monastery in St. Urban together with Urs Füeg.
City tour Worth seeing - the eleven churches and chapels in Solothurn.
Book now a guided tour on the subject of churches and chapels